top of page
Rechercher
  • Photo du rédacteurSophia Laporte

Ravine des Noctambules, la Dives & Del Cano

Weeks go by very quickly, we are all busy, and life on the base is very nice. When I'm not working at my desk or at the Pointe Bénédicte cabin, I get to accompany the others on their field trips, and explore the island a little more.


I went back to the Del Cano cabin, one of my favourite places on the island. I helped with the counting of light-mantled albatrosses that nest in the cliffs.


Little cabin in the middle of nowhere ...

with its red and blue barrels containing food and equipment. équipement.


Amazing starry skies...


We went to the plant-covered wall in the heart of a ravine,


and to the Del Cano point, with the great view over Entrecasteaux.



I was able to take part in different phylica surveys, such as one on the east of the island, at la Ravine des Noctambules. The site is home to one of the most impressive phylica forests.


The ground was covered in moss and endemic plants.


We camped on site in the evening. It's so nice to sleep outside and make the most of this incredible environment.


I also hiked to the summit of the island a few times, to help with work on traps and sound recorders. The hike up the island is always so impressive.


It's winter now, the sun doesn't shine so much, temperatures are lower. We were mostly in thick fog.

I'm always so happy to go on field trips! :)

14 vues

Posts récents

Voir tout
bottom of page